The Australian LGBTI Awards Shortlist Is Out!

Michelle Heyman
Michelle Heyman won the Sports Personality of the year 2017

Over 6,000 people were nominated this year across 16 categories, including Celebrity of the Year, Sports Personality of the Year, Ally, Brand and Marketing Campaign, Community Initiative/Charity and Inspirational Role Model.

TV Prison series Wentworth, Penny Wong, Ruby Rose, and Lucy Lawless are just a few of the nominees.

Outside of celebs, sport stars, and everyday heroes, there will also be a Corporate Award Category, which looks at CEOs and Diversity Champions in the business sector.

The winners in these categories will be decided by an esteemed judging panel that includes Les Girls legend Carlotta, Broadcaster Julie McCrossin, SBS Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director Michael Ebeid, LGBTI Activist and Model Ollie Henderson, Disability Discrimination Commissioner Alistair McEwin and PwC Australia Partner, Suzi Russell-Gilford.

You’ve got until December 31st to get your votes in. Winners will be announced at a special red carpet gala dinner on Friday 2 March, 2018 at The Star, Sydney hosted by Jackie Loeb  & Casey Conway.

“2017 has been a rough year for the LGBTI community, we’ve had the legitimacy of our relationships debated in the public domain for months, advertisements and posters spreading hate and lies and the entire nation voting on our rights to marry, so the Australian LGBTI Awards are an opportunity for us to celebrate one another, our achievements and supporters”, said Australian LGBTI Awards Director, Silke Bader.

Public voting is now open at so go support your faves!