GLBT Historical Society Recognizes Miss Major, Pamela Peniston, Maggi Rubenstein, Gerard Koskovich and Juanita MORE! at Virtual Gala


The GLBT Historical Society’s annual Gala will take place in a virtual format this year, bringing together enthusiasts of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer history and culture

The online soirée will support the public history initiatives of the society, including its renowned museum and archives.

“Reunion: Making History” will be hosted by filmmaker and performer Peaches Christ and comedian Marga Gomez. Transgender opera singer Breanna Sinclairé and musician and activist Freddie Seipoldt will provide the evening’s entertainment.

The GLBT Historical Society will bestow five awards at the Gala. This year’s recipients of the History Makers Award, given “for significant artistry and contributions to LGBTQ history and culture,” are Miss Major, a Black, transgender elder and activist for the trans and gender-nonconforming community; Pamela Peniston, an artist and founding member of the Queer Cultural Center; and Dr. Maggi Rubenstein, a bisexual activist, educator, sex therapist and sexologist.

The Clio Award, given “for advancing understanding of LGBTQ history,” will be presented to Gerard Koskovich, a historian, rare book dealer and GLBT Historical Society founding member. Finally, the Willie Walker Founders Award, given “for steadfast support, philanthropy and leadership,” will be presented to San Francisco philanthropist, drag performer and activist Juanita MORE!

Sponsors for this year’s Gala include the Bob Ross Foundation, First Republic Bank, Randy Alfred, Tina Valentin Aguirre & Bill Jennings, Bob Dockendorff, Beth Feingold, William Levinger & Tracy Stiles, Peter Lundberg & James Mowdy, Kylie Minono, Maria Powers & Bobbi Marshall, Lito Sandoval, Cornelis van Aalst & Jeffrey Robinson, and Allyson Washburn, Ph.D.

Reunion: Making History

2020 GLBT Historical Society Gala
Friday, October 16, 6:00–7:30 p.m.
Suggested donation: $25
Tickets and more information: