On the evening of June, 4 the who’s who of the queer literary world gathered in New York City for the sold out 24th Annual Lambda Literary Awards. Lesbian icon Kate Clinton brought her notorious humor and pointed commentary to her role as this year’s Master of Ceremonies making this the event to attend for any book-loving lesbian.

 Top Lesbian winners this year included Six Metres of Pavement by Farzana Doctor (Lesbian Fiction), Zipper Mouth by Laurie Weeks  (Lesbian Debut Fiction), When We Were Outlaws: A Memoir of Love & Revolution by Jeanne Córdova (Lesbian Memoir/Biography), Kim Baldwin and Xenia Alexiou’s Dying to Live (Lesbian Mystery), Love Cake by Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha (Lesbian Poetry),  Taken by Surprise by Kenna White (Lesbian Romance), and Debra Hyde’s Story of L (Lesbian Erotica).

Women were big winners in general this year, with Barbara Browning’s The Correspondence Artist winning Bisexual Fiction, Jan Steckel’s The Horizontal Poet winning Bisexual Nonfiction, Sister Arts: The Erotics of Lesbian Landscapes by Lisa L. Moore LGBT Studies, Tristan Taormino’s anthology Take Me There: Trans and Genderqueer Erotica Transgender Fiction, and Peggy Shaw’s A Menopausal Gentleman: The Solo Performances of Peggy Shaw LGBT Drama. Lesbians also took home additional prestigious awards with Kate Millett receiving a standing ovation as she accepted the Pioneer Award, and Stacey D’Erasmo taking home the prize for Outstanding Mid-Career Novelist. (lambdaliterary.org)

Add your comment: