GLAAD Announces Nominees for 20th Annual Media Awards


All My Children was nominated for Outstanding Daily Drama.

The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) announced the nominees for their 20th annual Media Awards on Tuesday, sending a shout-out to lesbian dramas and journalists alike. The awards recognize fair and inclusive portrayals of the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender community in journalism, comic books, theater, television and film.

In its final season, The L Word received a nomination for Outstanding Drama Series while "Ellen & Portia's Wedding Day" on The Ellen DeGeneres Show, was recognized in the Outstanding Talk Show Episode category, along with GLBT-friendly episodes of The Tyra Banks Show and The Oprah Winfrey Show. All My Children is among one of two daytime shows nominated for Outstanding Daily Drama, honoring supercouple Bianca and Reese.

The media focus on Proposition 8 generated endless news stories from journalists and Rachel Maddow is no exception. Her segment “Rick Warren: Change to Believe In?” not only criticized President Obama for inviting Warren to his inauguration but also landed her a nomination for Outstanding TV Journalism Segment.

Financial guru Suze Orman will be honored with the prestigious Vito Russo Award, named after a founding member of GLAAD and presented to an openly lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equal rights for our community. Russo will join the ranks of past winners such as Rosie O’Donnell, Nathan Lane and k.d. lang to name a few.

"Tyra Banks and Suze Orman have used their positions of power within the media to become strong advocates on behalf of the LGBT community," said GLAAD President Neil G. Giuliano. "They are changing hearts and minds, opening people's eyes to our common humanity, and it is our privilege to honor them."

Tyra Banks will receive the Excellence in Media Award for her work in increasing the visibility and understanding of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community. A handful of past recipients include Billy Crystal, Julianne Moore, Diane Sawyer and Glenn Close.

GLAAD will also present Special Recognition awards to The Laramie Project, 10 Years Later - The Lasting Legacy of Matthew Shepard, a two-hour documentary broadcast on Sirius XM Radio; and to Lucía Méndez, an actress and singer who campaigned to bring awareness to the issue of LGBT teen suicide.

The GLAAD Media Awards ceremonies will be held in New York on March 28, 2009 at the Marriott Marquis; in Los Angeles on April 18 at the Nokia Theatre L.A. LIVE; and in San Francisco on May 9 at the Hilton San Francisco.

Edit ModuleEdit Module
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Related Articles

Jenny Durkan To Become First Out Lesbian Mayor Of Seattle

She's currently now the second out lesbian mayor of a major U.S. city.

The Queer Art Fellowship Recipients Have Been Announced

These lucky ducks have been paired with some incredible mentors.

Lesbian Filmmaker JD Disalvatore Dies

Activist for LGBT and animal rights.

Hurricane Harvey Hits Houston Hard

1 in 4 Texans impacted – help is needed.

Add your comment: